> Home > Government > Media Room > News Releases > City Announces Order of Moncton Recipients

City Announces Order of Moncton Recipients

October 27, 2016

MONCTON – On November 15, 2016, the City of Moncton will honour the 2016 recipients of the Order of Moncton:  Doctor Susan Crouse, the late Owen Fraser and Louise Imbeault. 

“For the seventh year, we honour and celebrate outstanding citizens who have made significant contributions to the social, economic and cultural wellbeing of Moncton and its residents,” says Mayor Dawn Arnold. “Doctor Crouse, the late Mr. Fraser and Madame Imbeault exemplify excellence in their domains with long lists of accomplishments, and have positively touched the lives of many. Their extraordinary generosity and compassion serve as inspiration to us all and I am thrilled to congratulate the 2016 recipients of the Order of Moncton.”

Susan Crouse

 Doctor Susan Crouse

 Doctor Susan Crouse is a veteran health care provider who acknowledges the importance  of  care and compassion for the less fortunate people in Moncton. It takes someone  remarkably special to care for the uncared-for – the marginalized individuals who often  fall  through the cracks of our system. Her dedication led her to establish the Harvest  House  Centre, which later became the Salvus Clinic. The Salvus Clinic (Latin for safe) is a  safe  place for people with mental illness and addiction to get the tailored care they  need. 

Dr. Crouse is a committed volunteer with RotoCleft Peru, where she provides medical care to children with cleft palates and lips. She also represents the Atlantic Region on the Mental Health Committee of the College of Family Physicians of Canada. 

Doctor Crouse believes in a model of care on a human level like no other. She is dedicated to improving the social well-being of Moncton citizens, giving hope and purpose to those who feel like there is none left. Doctor Susan Crouse is a wonderful inspiration and worthy of being recognized in the Order of Moncton. 

Owen Fraser

 Owen Fraser

 The late Owen Fraser was a consummate teacher and beloved mentor who gave selflessly  to all aspects of school life. He dedicated his life to challenging the youth of Moncton to  have confidence, to reach for goals thought to be unattainable and to become leaders in  society while appreciating and preserving our natural world. He has influenced  generations  of Monctonians who have helped transform the city into what it is today.

 He piloted the Outdoor Pursuits Program and Computer Education which later became the  model for the provincial program. He founded Camp Centennial which flourishes to this  day. He was the choir director at his church and worked tirelessly for years in the Boy  Scout movement. He co-founded the Cape Enrage project which has become one of New  Brunswick’s major tourist attractions. 

 Never shying away from what was deemed too difficult, he made things happen. He was a true visionary working for the greater good of his community. An unforgettable role model, Owen Fraser was an ideal example of an exemplary citizen. 

Louise Imbeault

 Louise Imbeault

 Louise Imbeault has enjoyed many roles in her distinguished journalism career at Radio-  Canada as a reporter, host and news editor, serving as director of Radio-Canada Atlantic  region until her retirement in 2011. Her excellent work was recognized in 2009 when she  was awarded with the President’s Award from Radio-Canada. 

 Her passion and commitment for arts and culture is legendary. She continues to lead and  promote numerous cultural initiatives locally, provincially and nationally, inspiring others  to positive action while enriching the quality of life for all.  She currently owns a publishing house for children’s literature, Bouton d’or Acadie, and it became the first to publish Eastern Canadian Native American stories in their original language, English and French.  

Ms. Imbeault serves on many municipal and provincial boards including the Moncton Cultural Board, where she is co-chair, as vice president on the board of directors for the New Brunswick Museum and member of the Feminist Coalition of New Brunswick.  She believes in equal rights for all humans and her strong voice for excellence, hope, advancement and progress make her an icon in the community and excellent ambassador for Moncton.


The Order of Moncton recipients will be awarded with an Order of Moncton medal, a pin and a certificate of honour at the formal induction ceremony, to be held at Moncton City Hall on November 15, 2016 (a public reception will follow at 8 p.m.).

The selection committee considered many nominations, and is comprised of elected municipal officials, three residents of Moncton and a representative of the City of Moncton administration. 

Past recipients are: 
2010 Larry Nelson, Ralph Black, Sœur Auréa Cormier, Claudette Bradshaw

2011 Thea Borlase, Ruben Cohen, Maurice Henri

2012 Marshall Button, Corinne Gallant, Ken McLeod

2013 Leonard H. Lockhard, Peter Sawyer, Bill Whalen

2014 Wes Armour, Aldéa Landry, Claude Roussel

2015 Audrey Lampert, George Wybouw, Raven Spanier

– 30 –

Media Contact: 

Kelly Jones
Communications, City of Moncton