> Home > Government > Media Room > News Releases > City of Moncton Seeking Nominations for Order of Moncton 2014

City of Moncton Seeking Nominations for Order of Moncton 2014

July 4, 2014
MONCTON – Once again, the City of Moncton is looking for nominations for its most prestigious and highest ranking honour: the Order of Moncton. Awarded annually since 2010, this award recognizes and distinguishes nominated Monctonians for their significant contributions and outstanding achievements to Moncton’s social, cultural or economic fabric. Nominees must be past or present, long-term residents of Moncton who have brought honour to Moncton on a national or international scale. 

“The Order of Moncton provides much-deserved recognition to people who have helped make Moncton such an amazing place to live and also to show that we, as a community, greatly appreciate their contributions to our city.” said Mayor George LeBlanc. “We ask Monctonians to submit nominations, because it gives us the chance to find out about deserving individuals from the very people who benefit from their actions. Past inductees have followed various career paths and worked with many different organizations in Moncton. This shows that great people can come from all kinds of places and change lives in many positive ways.”

Nominations must be submitted by Friday, September 12, 2014; forms may be obtained at City Hall, 655 Main Street, or online at www.moncton.ca. Incomplete applications will not be considered, and it should be noted that elected representatives currently serving on Moncton City Council, the Provincial Legislature, the House of Commons, the Senate, and judges of any court are not eligible for nomination.

Recipients will be chosen by the Order of Moncton Selection Committee, appointed by the Mayor and Moncton City Council. The Committee is comprised of Council members, citizens and a staff advisory group

Past inductees are: Ralph Wilson Black, Claudette Bradshaw, Soeur Auréa Cormier and Larry Nelson in 2010; Thea Borlase, Reuben Cohen and Maurice Henri in 2011; Marshall Button, Corinne Gallant and Ken MacLeod in 2012; Leonard H. Lockhart, Peter Sawyer and Bill Whalen in 2013.


Media Contact:
Nicole Melanson
Communications, City of Moncton
Nicole.melanson@moncton.ca / 506-383-6214