> Home > Government > Media Room > News Releases > City of Moncton Seeking Nominations for Order of Moncton 2017

City of Moncton Seeking Nominations for Order of Moncton 2017

June 1, 2017

MONCTON – Once again, the City of Moncton is looking for nominations for its most prestigious and highest ranking honour: the Order of Moncton. Since 2010, this annual award recognizes and distinguishes nominated Monctonians for their significant contributions and outstanding achievements to Moncton’s social, cultural or economic fabric. 

“The Order of Moncton recognizes people in all sectors of society committed to helping our community flourish while improving the lives of others,” said Moncton Mayor Dawn Arnold. “Their contributions are highly respected and we wish to honour and thank deserving individuals who make a difference in our city, for having the capacity to transform visions into reality for the benefit of all.” 

Nominations and letters of support must be submitted by Friday, September 15, 2017; forms may be obtained at City Hall, 655 Main Street, or online at moncton.ca. Nominees must be past or present, long-term residents of Moncton who have brought honour to Moncton on a national or international scale. Incomplete applications will not be considered, and it should be noted that elected representatives currently serving on Moncton City Council, the Provincial Legislature, the House of Commons, the Senate, and judges of any court are not eligible for nomination.

Recipients will be chosen by the Order of Moncton Selection Committee which is comprised of Council members, citizens and a staff advisory group. Recipients will be notified by October 27.

There has been twenty-two recipients of the Order of Moncton in the last seven years:  Dr. Susan Crouse, the late Owen Fraser and Louise Imbeault in 2016; Audrey Lampert, Raven Spanier and George Wybouw in 2015; Wes Armour, Aldéa Landry and Claude Roussel in 2014; Leonard H. Lockhart, Peter Sawyer and Bill Whalen in 2013; Marshall Button, Corinne Gallant and Ken MacLeod in 2012; Thea Borlase, Reuben Cohen and Maurice Henri in 2011; and Ralph Wilson Black, Claudette Bradshaw, Soeur Auréa Cormier and Larry Nelson in 2010.


Media Contact:
Isabelle LeBlanc, Director of Communications, City of Moncton
Isabelle.leblanc@moncton.ca / 506-853-3592