> Home > Government > Media Room > News Releases > City seeking nominations for Order of Moncton 2013

City seeking nominations for Order of Moncton 2013

July 19, 2013

MONCTON – Once again, the City of Moncton is looking for nominations for its most prestigious and highest ranking honour: the Order of Moncton. Awarded annually since 2010, this award recognizes and distinguishes nominated Monctonians for their significant contributions and outstanding achievements to Moncton’s social, cultural or economic fabric. Nominees must be past or present, long-term residents of Moncton who have brought honour to Moncton on a national or international scale.

“The Order of Moncton was created to give much-deserved recognition to people who have helped make Moncton such an amazing place to live and also to show that we, as a community, greatly appreciate their contributions to our city.” said Mayor George LeBlanc. “We ask Monctonians to submit nominations, because it gives us the chance to find out about deserving individuals from the very people who benefit from their actions. In its three-year existence, we’ve awarded the Order of Moncton to people who’ve followed various career paths and worked with many different organizations in Moncton. This shows that great people can come from all kinds of places and change lives in many positive ways.”

Nominations must be submitted by Friday, August 30, 2013. Nomination forms may be obtained at City Hall, 655 Main Street, or online at www.moncton.ca. Incomplete applications will not be considered.

Recipients will be chosen by the Order of Moncton Selection Committee, appointed by the Mayor and Moncton City Council. The Committee is comprised of Council members, citizens and a staff advisory group. Those awarded the Order of Moncton will be notified by the end of September and honoured in a special ceremony that will take place in October 2013.

It should be noted that elected representatives currently serving on Moncton City Council, the Provincial Legislature, the House of Commons, the Senate, and judges of any court are not eligible for nomination.

Ten people have been chosen as members of the Order of Moncton in the past three years: Ralph Wilson Black, Claudette Bradshaw, Soeur Auréa Cormier and Larry Nelson in 2010, Thea Borlase, Reuben Cohen and Maurice Henri in 2011, and Marshall Button, Corinne Gallant and Ken MacLeod in 2012.


Media Contact:
Nicole Melanson
Communications, City of Moncton